just had to install win98 and having problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 46
Default just had to install win98 and having problems

let me start out by giving the background of my situation. For about the past 40 days my computer has been incapasitated due to over heating issues. This past weekend I finally got it up and running but my OS (WinXP pro) was still fubar. Stupid me though lost my XP disc (I am still crying because of it)and I had to install win98. Now just earlier today I finished getting drivers and other things up and running and 2 programs installed (firefox and trillian) but even after updating to the newest catalyst drivers (i have a radeon 9600) my graphics are still VERY bad. By this I mean I cant see pictures on the internet in their full color. I have run out of ideas and have already tried reinstalling the drivers. also maybe related I am getting a series of errors while starting up my computer. One after the other my computer says that it cannot find these three files (this is all while still in the DOS type mode) vnetsup.vxd ; vredir.vxd ; dfs.vxd; also once it gets into win98 it brings up an error saying that a dynamic link library cannot be found called msnp32.dll and that microsoft network may not work. SO any info on either of these issues would be awsome

sadrobot is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706

that's 98 for ya...

so, this computer was designed for xp?

I'd just download an xp iso, and use the product key on the side of the computer to activate it...

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 46

well I built the computer myself (still have my cd key luckily) guess i will just download an .iso or something then and try that.

and all I wana do is just play world of warcraft nothing else

here is what it looks like when in my options
sadrobot is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

out of curiousity...why didnt you pick windows me or 2000?
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.