just great... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default just great...

A i borrowed a copany laptop and installed the following for a few days

Firefox

Thunderbird

Avast - anti virus


and now one of the $1k programs doesn't work

i'm sure these programs wouldn't effect this

any idea on what would have happened?
__________________

__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

What is the $1,000 program name LOL thats expensive.

If you want to pin anything blame Avast never blame the fox.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

its a program for air balancing

so avast might have done it?
__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I have no clue I just don't like avast.... Can't you just install the program again.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

how doesnt it work? and check the event viewer
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

Personally, i have never used avast, though, if it does some firewall, i might have blocked ur program from going to internet if it accesses internet..

otherwise, i don't see how those three program might affect your computer...
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Avast is an anti virus program.

Uninstall everything you personally put on and pray it resolves the conflict.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 09:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

ok i'll try that

thx
__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

avasti might think that the program is a malicous code and disable function to that program. you will have those problems with AntiViruses and expensive programs (because it is a rare program that most people won't use) sometimes. Most programs that expensive will work with Norton A/V however, and I never recommend norton as it is a resource hog, but that may be your solution
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 04:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

get zone alarm with anti virus. that always worked for me .
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.