just got a new hard drive... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2008, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default just got a new hard drive...

Greets,

i recently got a new hard drive as my old 200 gig is pretty old, so i bought a new 250 gig hard drive. so i looked for my windows xp disk, found it, and unfortunately it is only the upgrade version, i thought i could prolly just find my old 98 disk and upgrade, but i cant find my old 98 disk, so i was wondering if it is a possibility to just copy EVERYTHING from my current hard drive and paste it into a new one, like taking a file from one flash drive and putting it into another. im cure i CAN copy and paste everything, but will it work? will i be able to have basically the same computer but with 50 more gigs of space?

i would go out and buy another XP disk but i currently cannot find anywhere and i hear that even after SP1 vista still blows...


thanks for help
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

You can use a prog like Ghost to Image the drive and then restore it to the new drive, but why not just add the 2nd drive as a data drive then you'll have the whole drive instead of just 50 GB
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

Okay my first question is why? Does the 200GB drive like squeak or is it dying? Is that why you want to move?

Vista sucking is your opinion. I know several thousand people that like it....

Bruce is right. Have to buy Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image to do this with it still being functional.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

i dont hear any squeaking, but i think it is only a matter of time as i have had the computer since april of 2005, using it a lot, i think it should have gone out by now but it still works.

any chance you could tell me how to use the second hard drive as basically adding 250 gigs to my hard drive? wasnt aware i could do that


oh yeah, would also like to add that even though the hard drive is a 200 gig, says 200 gigs on it, when looking at it in my computer it only says 178 gigs.


regards.
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

Hard drives can last quite a while if treated right; I have a couple hard drives 10+ years old that still work, and have seen/used some that are even older than that. They still work perfect.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Hard drives can last quite a while if treated right; I have a couple hard drives 10+ years old that still work, and have seen/used some that are even older than that. They still work perfect.
ahh, that is nice to know, i thought lifetime was usually around 3 or 4 years


anyways, how would i run the 2 hard drives, basically as 1?
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

You'd have to set up a RAID0. Why don't you just put the drive in there as a data drive alongside your existing drive?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

i do currently have the 250 gig plugged into the computer and such, but it doesnt show up in my computer. and could i get a definition of data drive? not exactly sure what you mean
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

Make sure you have the power/data cables plugged in tight. If you do, then you'll have to do this (since its a new drive, you'll probably have to do this anyway):

Start > right click on 'Computer' > go to Manage... > on the left pane, go to "Disk Management" > find your 250GB drive in the list at the bottom half of the right side of the screen > right click on it > click "create partition" > perform a full format on it.

And a data drive is just that: a drive to store your data on. Just put all of your miscellaneous files on it (pictures, videos, music, downloads, etc), so if you have to reinstall your OS, you don't have to backup your data, but everything will already be on a separate drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-17-2008, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: just got a new hard drive...

thanks for the help, got it all sorted out (data drive and such) 250 gig hard drive is currently formatting
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive & BIOS settings questions... Danja79 System Upgrades 10 03-10-2008 10:33 AM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.