The Joy of Crashes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default The Joy of Crashes

alright, im not sure where to put this post, but im going to do it here. my computer keeps restarting on its own. when windows boots up i send an error report and it tells me that it has something to do with some drivers. (it always crashes while im playing the game Lineage 2 btw) i just got new memory about a month ago, and a new power supply a couple weeks ago. i will update my sig to reflect this. it occasionally rebooted with the old (****ty) power supply, but it seems more often now with my new antec truepower. i really dont have any idea why this is happeneing because i have taken everything down in BIOS to stock settings....the only thing i can think of is my windows needs a reinstall. let me know what you think.
__________________

__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default Re: The Joy of Crashes

Quote:
Originally posted by snafupen
when windows boots up i send an error report and it tells me that it has something to do with some drivers.
What drivers exactly?
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 05:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Try replacing drivers for graphic card.....
big_B is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

maybe u should get the newest drivers for ur video card
__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i understan it as when i play a game my computer shuts down or restarts???
if that is correct u may need a more powerful PSU! i dont know much about that antec but if nothing else works then its ur psu
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default

dont know much about antec PSUs? maybe you should. anyways, should i uninstall the video drivers and try reinstalling them? windows crash analysis thing doesnt tell me what drivers. it just gives me a general response saying some "system drivers".
__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default

uninstalled and reinstalled video drivers. now instead of only crashing during games, it crashes almost any time, although usually while dumping a difficult load like closing a game. i suspect it could be the hard drive, it is getting kinda cramped and its probably 2-3 years old...comments please?
__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

do you have a differnt vid you could try
HD won't usually cause that, usually somthing stupid like the mouse drivers. Vid or sound are also common culprits.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default

it might be the sound. im using onboard AC97 audio...although i did update the audio drivers...but a sound blaster card might help the situation. (i had so many things on my mind at the last post i forgot to put sound)
__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to snafupen
Default

any thoughts on the possibility of sound?
__________________

__________________
S.N.A.F.U. specs...

-Epox EP-8KRA2+ with KT600 VIA chipset
-Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
-160gb WD SATA
-Nvidia 6600GT agp
-1024 Mb Dual Channel DDR PC3200 corsair valueram
-Antec 430 Watt Truepower
-Windows XP Pro OS
snafupen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.