Javascript problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Unhappy Javascript problem

Hello,
I'm not on my Dad's pc a lot, but today I was trying to access Yahoo! Music on it. When I go there (Using MyIE2, or just IE) Half the page is gone, the sign-in link isn't there, and when I click on a music video, it just sits there, and won't open. (The link uses javascript to open another window.) Dad has mentioned before that javascript stuff didn't always work. He's running 98SE, and he has Stop Sign for his pop-up blocker and anti-virus. I tried turning his pop-up blocker off, and it didn't work. I went to Internet settings, and set the security levels to low. I enable scripting, and Java, but still it wont work!

Any help would be great!
Thanks!
__________________

pcrobot is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

the only way you will get it to work is reinstalling the java runtime engine which you can get at http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
__________________

jimjimith is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 128
Default

i had the same problem before, all i did was turn off norton internet security and it let me see the video. If you have some sort of security/anti-virus/firewall crap on that computer then turn it off while you click on the video. Its worth a try.
hard_assteel is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yep...Yahooooooooooooo! My wifes computer at work would not access her SBC email in Yahoo.....kept telling her that the browser wasn't accepting cookies. So I changed the security profiles in the browser to enable cookies....nada.......rebooted in safe mode. Cookies were good. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......rebooted, disabled XP firewall....Nada,,......and then it hit me...McAfeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! It's a Dell machine (I just puked) and McAfee is bundled. One cute little part of their security bundle is "Internet Privacy"....a firewall of sorts...........disabled it and .......no problem..........we are becoming securitied to death!!!!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.