Javascript problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2005, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Unhappy Javascript problem

I'm not on my Dad's pc a lot, but today I was trying to access Yahoo! Music on it. When I go there (Using MyIE2, or just IE) Half the page is gone, the sign-in link isn't there, and when I click on a music video, it just sits there, and won't open. (The link uses javascript to open another window.) Dad has mentioned before that javascript stuff didn't always work. He's running 98SE, and he has Stop Sign for his pop-up blocker and anti-virus. I tried turning his pop-up blocker off, and it didn't work. I went to Internet settings, and set the security levels to low. I enable scripting, and Java, but still it wont work!

Any help would be great!

pcrobot is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13

the only way you will get it to work is reinstalling the java runtime engine which you can get at

jimjimith is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 03:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 128

i had the same problem before, all i did was turn off norton internet security and it let me see the video. If you have some sort of security/anti-virus/firewall crap on that computer then turn it off while you click on the video. Its worth a try.
hard_assteel is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Yep...Yahooooooooooooo! My wifes computer at work would not access her SBC email in Yahoo.....kept telling her that the browser wasn't accepting cookies. So I changed the security profiles in the browser to enable cookies....nada.......rebooted in safe mode. Cookies were good. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......rebooted, disabled XP firewall....Nada,,......and then it hit me...McAfeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! It's a Dell machine (I just puked) and McAfee is bundled. One cute little part of their security bundle is "Internet Privacy"....a firewall of sorts...........disabled it and problem..........we are becoming securitied to death!!!!!!!!
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.