Java help.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 05:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

I tried checking off Sun and checked all the Microsoft ones, but it didn't work. Then I tried checking only Sun and unchecking all the Microsoft ones, but it didn't work either. I also deleted the Sun folder in %userprofile% but it didn't work.
__________________

hobo_man is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 05:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

Maybe it's something to do with my system settings that's not enabling Java to run? My firewall is already allowing the Java things. What else can conflict Java? Shouldn't the Microsoft one work?
__________________

hobo_man is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

the MS one will only work for non Sun required Java. Most all sun java required versions will prompt for an install if it can't find it... Do you have another account on that machine? if not create one and test it with that account. If it works, then you will need to rebuild you account profile. The fixes that I know of, have failed, so I'm at a loss...
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 150
Default

Yes I do, and I tested it on the other account as well but it didn't work. I'm starting to think it's a problem with Windows..maybe I should reinstall Windows.
hobo_man is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 06:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

no. uninstall all the Java. Then go through the registry and remove all of the keys in Hk_Local_Machine\software and HK_Current_user\Software. Then delete the Java folder in %systemroot%, and make sure to remove any Java folders from Program files.

Then reinstall Java and give it a try.
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 07:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Java

Having same problem as this guy, tried everything here, still not working.
__________________

Ajjw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.