itunes wont start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default itunes wont start

Ever since I installed a new version of iTunes, iTunes wont start. Even if I install an older version, it still wont start. It gives me this message:


What can I do to get this working again? I'm very frustrated! (normally the error message would be a thing that allows you to submit the problem to windows, but i've turned error reporting off)
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301/



next use the QuickTime component of the complete uninstall instructions in the following document as a guide to a manual removal of leftover QuickTime program files and folders

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93976
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Actually, right after posting this I found a solution to not only one problem, but it killed two birds with one stone.

The problem was a security update conflicting with the QT player. By uninstalling this update, I was able to get QT (and ultimately itunes) working and my boot time which I've been having trouble with lately has normalized. It used to sometimes take 20 minutes; other times it would only take .5 strokes of the bar in the loading screen.

Here's what the guy said about it
Quote:
the error message you are reporting (the 0x80040707) is now almost exclusively being caused by the incompatibility between the QT Player and Windows Update KB908531 on any x64 version of Windows and at least some of the 32-bit versions of Server 2003. (the broken QT then causes the itunes problems.)
(except, I wasn't reporting 0x80040707...)

But, with uninstalling a security update, comes the added vulnerability. Something about the possibility of remote code execution. That sounds pretty bad, but I'll wait until it happens before I get all freaked out. I'd rather be able to use my computer and be vulnerable than do nothing knowing I'm secure.

I hope someone reads this and it helps someone!
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

which update?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

this one: Windows Update KB908531

I bolded it in the top post to make it more apparent.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so you have one of these: x64 version of Windows and at least some of the 32-bit versions of Server 2003.?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Yes, I'm running Professional 64x
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sec.../MS06-015.mspx
theres the link to the vulnerability trade-off with uninstalling the update.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

ok, that might have helped solve this faster if we knew your OS type....but o well, ya got it fixed.
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

sorry, forgot i didn't have it in my sig. ill add it later
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.