IRQ value/channel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2005, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default IRQ value/channel

Does anyone know how to view/modify the IRQ address for devices? I think someone told me once how to to that once on this site, but I can't remember. Also, is it easy/safe to change the values/channels for a device? I think each device is supposed to have its own value, but I remember that some of my devices had the same value. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You shouldn't be playing around with IRQs. Plug and Play takes care of that for you.

If you're curious to check what the IRQs are for certain devices, go to device manager, find the device, right-click it and goto properties. Then click the resources tab.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Device manager
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

I don't have a resources tab there. I would not worry about anything but I keep getting this stupid message lately, sometimes 4-5 times a day. I get a blue screen that says either DRIVER IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL or IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL. It actually happened when I posted when I posted my last post like 5-10 minutes ago and it is driving me crazy. Any suggestions?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

At that point , we usually just do a re-image or (reformat + new install )
__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.