Ipconfig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default Ipconfig

Does anyone know of a small utility that I can place on our end-users' desktops that they can click on to find out what their IP is? Sometimes its a pain to walk them through a simple ipconfig using command prompt.
__________________

wicket is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

http://whatsmyip.org/

or any other site like that.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

That seems to be picking up our firewall IP or some other device address. I just did it on my PC and its not the IP that I have
wicket is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

ah yeah, it picks up your outside ip. didnt realize you were behind a firewall.

i dont know how big your place is, or how your naming scheme is for your systems but if you know the computer name then just look up the lease in dhcp for that machine.

ill keep my eye out for something in the mean time. also creating a batch file where they just double click it it will show ipconfig might work so look into that.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

this is all u need

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sys...es/BgInfo.mspx
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks Warez! I can't believe I forgot about that program. We used to use that a while back with a different company.
wicket is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

np, I use that here also
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.