IP Limit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Default IP Limit

Does Windows XP have a limit to how many IP addresses you can give one network card?
__________________

lbduballstrs is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Default

What exactly do you mean and what are you trying to acomplish? There is an alternate configuration you can specify for a NIC however you cannot have two IP address bound to the NIC at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Default

One of the developers that I work with is doing some testing with a server. He has about 15 IP's on the card now and it was working fine until he just added a few more . The network traffic is just starting to act a little funny. I didn't know if their was a limit to how many IP's a NIC can handle at a time.
lbduballstrs is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lbduballstrs
One of the developers that I work with is doing some testing with a server. He has about 15 IP's on the card now and it was working fine until he just added a few more . The network traffic is just starting to act a little funny. I didn't know if their was a limit to how many IP's a NIC can handle at a time.
Umm..you can have as many IP assigned to one interface as you want but only one is used and that's the first one on the top of the lines. Check the TCP/IP advanced properties. I don't see why you need 15 IP assigned to one network interface anyways.

I'm not saying you can't, but when you're doing things like clustering or load balancing you can have multiple NIC and IP bind to a single IP for ease of management.
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Also, it may be possible to have more than 2 IP on one interface and still be able to use the other IP. This may just be a limitation on XP, as I have never seen this limitation in Linux or 2003 servers.
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Thanks Law. I don't really know what he is trying to do with them, some software devolpment tests or something. I was just looking for an answer to give him when he asked me what the limit was on IP addresses per NIC because I have never herd of needing so many.
__________________

lbduballstrs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.