Io - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Io

Hello

Does windows vista use memory mapped IO or port mapped IO depending upon architecture, the wiki says that Intel uses port mapped IO, so my noob understanding is that windows vista for Itanium would be port mapped IO whereas windows vista for amd would be memory mapped IO.

Is a IO port a single address or an address range?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Its an address range
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

i guess the address range is variable dependent upon how much functionality the IO device provides.

e.g. if it is a UART then it needs to address the transmit buffer, receive buffer, correct?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

All right which exam are you studying for?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default



not studying for an exam, just moved jobs and need to understand low level drivers, interaction with OS(windows) real quick, also need to understand the business side.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Depending on what you are trying to program, you have what are called flags or pointers and it is spit into memory addresses. Now keep in mind, when doing this it is paramount to know what memory addresses are already alloctaed to windows. I can't really recall, but there is a memory range that your do NOT touch.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.