Invalid Ms-Dos Version // Win 95 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2005, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy Invalid Ms-Dos Version // Win 95

Hey all,

I have a mates old laptop computer which i have been told has Win95 installed.

When the computer is turned on i received an error message asking me to "Enter the name of Command Interpreter (e.g., C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM)".

I made a Win95 bootdisk from and put it into the drive. I have now managed to get the computer reading from the A:\ drive and the C:\ drive (get a bit list after typing "DIR").

After searching for a possible solution i have tried copying the system files onto the C:\ drive using "SYS a: c:" but receive an error message saying "Invalid Ms-Dos Version".
I have also tried renaming the SETVER.EXE file ( ren setver.exe setver.old) but receive a message saying "File Not Found".

I have no idea what to do next.

Id greatly appreciate any help with this, thanks!

biggieuk is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

sounds like a broken drive. run scandisk.

office politics is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2

I have now managed to get windows to load up by typing:

"cd windows" and then "win".

The system will still not load up by itself though. I have also noticed in the "Device manager" the Primary IDE controller (dual fifo) and Seconary both have yellow warning signs next to them.

biggieuk is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

type in:

ren autoexec.bat autoexec.123


ren config.sys config.123

and restart... see if it will recreate it (this is usually good for a dos loop, but not sure here). That or just check the system.ini and look at the shell= at the top, should be shell=explorer.exe

also, if the above doesn't work, just rename the files back to the original.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.