invalid long file name entry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2005, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default invalid long file name entry

I'm using windows 98 se..

Basically, I can't get into windows either in regular or safe mode. When I run scan disk in DOS, I get an 'invalid long file name entry' which it is unable to fix from DOS. I'm sure this is not an uncommon problem. Does anyone have a solution besides reformatting the harddrive....
__________________

mech is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Does it give you a specific file name, or anything else in the error message?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

no, just says to run scandisk in windows 98, but obviously I can't get into windows 98...
mech is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I got one of them once when I was in my cache and cookies it's a file with over 250 characters for a name (I think don't hold me on that). As for a solution not sure depends on what the file is and what you want to do with it.

deleat it in dos or remain it?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I think I probably just need to delete it. but the problem is finding it.
mech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.