internet options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default internet options

hi all i cannot open internet options from control panel or tools, this started when i tried uninstalling IE7 it would not finish uninstalling, said i needed NT uninstaller, went to msn site found it unable to install it,no links on web sites work,When i open IE i get two IE web pages open both white,i have run anti virus found nothing,spy bot found nothing,have spywere blaster,and super antispywere found nothing please help running XP sp2 thanks joe
__________________

sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

sleepy either download IE7 or IE6 , then go to c:\program files and rename the existing IE folder. This will allow you to reinstall IE over top of itself. I had a similar issue with IE7 when it was a beta version.
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

hi tried that cant download no links work i click on download nothing happens
sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Try rolling back back to IE6, see if the problem still persists. But as you are getting 2 pages that might mean "SPYWARE" but anyways, perhaps it's time to try FireFox
Tcm9669 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

you may need to do a system repair, unless you have access to another PC and a thumb drive or cd burner. maybe you should try a system restore to the point before you installed IE7.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default ie problems

hi all, thanks for your comments system restore wont go back only got March, how do i roll back to IE6. thanks for the help joe
sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 02:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

You can try this, but i am not sure if it will work because I am not exactly sure what happened with your IE7. go to c:\windows\inf.
the inf folder is hidden so you need to go into tools options view, show hidden files. then right click in ie.inf, and click install. It is either going to ask for you xp cd or it is going to ask for the ie7 installation source. Hope this helps
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 11:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default eureeka

hi i think i am going nuts,i thought i would try changing modems disconected my ethernet connected my old speedtouch modem now everything is fine IE6 opens got tool bar back, thanks for all your help, do you think i should try installing IE7 to see what happens or leave it alone as everything seems fine now
sleepyjoe is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a hijackthis log, pinkfloyd2005 dont know his *** from a hole in the ground, how bout an *** whoopin??
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

If warez monster had a brain, he could read your post and see from what you posted, that you probably had a faulty modem. Microsoft posted a kb stating if you installed a beta version of IE7 you may not be able to uninstall it through add/remove programs, or the uninstall could also fail. In this case you would need to delete/rename the ie program folder. If IE is corrupt it can be reinstalled from your original installation disk by right clicking on the IE.inf and clicking install.
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.