internet issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2004, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default internet issues

Hi,

I was just at a friends house where they showed me a computer problem that they are having ... i figured i would ask for help with this one..

the system is a windows 98 se system .. it has 128 mb ram.

this friends son decided that he wanted to try to install wireless dsl on the computer but he really did not know what he was doing and when my friend came home the computer was a mess.

basically the son tried to install wireless dsl but it did not work so then he just wanted to get the computer back using dial up .. well nothing worked. so i took a look at it and was able to get the dial up to at least recognize the modem and connect to the internet... however when you open internet exploder oops i mean internet explorer you can not browse the web. so i uninstalled dial up networking and reinstalled it... i checked all of the settings and called the isp to confirm that the settings were correct. I then pinged an ip addy and as long as i used an numerical ip addy i get a response. but when i ping a test ip addy i get nothing. the computer is still not able to browse the internet but is definately connect.

any suggestions... the isp was out of suggestions and basically said we dont know its beyond us.

Please help.

thanks for your time and assistance.
__________________

lheggie is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 232
Default

If you have access to DSL then why go to such lengths to re-fix the dial up. You should be focussing on fixing the DSL problem. Also, what is wireless DSL??? LOL
__________________

cas0496 is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

So, ur are able to ping using the ip address but not with the url.
In most of the cases that is due to a qhost virus.
Check this website for complete information.
http://securityresponse.symantec.com....bootconf.html
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

As I said in the initial post the friends son tried to install dsl service. They have since cancelled the dsl service and want to just keep dial up. That is why I am not focusing on keeping the dsl.

After posting I went back to the friends house and ran a full virus scan on the system and removed a bunch of spyware. No virus's were found but a lot of spyware was located and removed and still you can not browse on the internet.
lheggie is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Look in the windows folder for sahun*.exe - my daughter managed to toast her win98 setup with some shopathome stuff...
running the uninstall fixed it... (*AFTER spyware removal didn't*)
gruntwerk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.