internet help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2003, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default internet help please

hey all, i've been having a serious problem with my internet. i just reformatted and i cant use my schools T3 connection. when i do ipconfig in command, i get media is disconnected. people have told me that this is because the cable is not plugged in all the way. i dont think this is the case because the light on the on board is on and it is snuggly plugged into the wall. the cat 5e cable is good because i plugged it inot my laptop and it works fine, and thus the port is good to. is it possible that the onboard lan is not work regardless of the fact that the light is on? i'm fresh out of idea esp. sice i just reformatted, please help. thanx

shady06 is offline  
Old 03-18-2003, 06:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211

is it set to automatically obtain an ip or did you specify the ip that you wanted. It should be set to automatically obtain an ip.

~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 03-18-2003, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

I would look at a driver issue here,, just because you reformatted does not necessarily mean that the nic is working correctly,,

find out what your onboard nic is,, go to the manufacture site and look for current drivers that coincide with the nic,, or,, if you bought a system from IBM, Dell, etc,, look on their site for the driver matrix for your machine,,

you could try to ping the nic , go to dos prompt and type :

ping,, this is a loop back and should give you an idea of whether the card is functioning,,

check the pins where the ethernet plugs in,, any bent? straighten them,,

If you have another NIC,, disable the onboard and install a different one, if that works, then you can say something is wrong with the NIC,,

After you find out the issue,, (I am sure you will),, what is the warranty on the MOBO, machine,, ??
see if you are covered,, get it fixed,,, if not,, a New Nic is about 20 bucks,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.