internet explorer crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2004, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default internet explorer crashing

HI
MY internet explorer often crashes. It comes up with the familaiar message, if i want to debug the program. If i hit ok, the whole thing closes and if it hit cancel, then it opens up MS Dev. and once i go through the prcedure then it just kills all my windows explorer windows.
isn;t there a way i can keep all my windows explorer windows open in such an event.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

I recall once having a problem very similar to this one, although i can't remember what i did to alleviate the problem. I used to have it all the time though, this was years ago.

Are you up to date on all the explorer updates? First thing i'd do is disable that ms dev thing, cause i've found it to be more of a pain than anything.
__________________

__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 05:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

why dont u just reinstall internet explorer instead of trying to find a way to make the crashes less bothersome and then not have any crashes at all, if u have xp try typing sfc /scannow at the the command prompt, it may fix ie if ur lucky, if not just reinstall it, u can find out how at microsucks site
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Try reinstalling it. I have that kind of problem before, but it only appears on some webpage I visit. I didn't reinstall it or anything, it just went back to normal.
trev is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 07:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

where do i get the latest explorer updates?
and how do i reinstall my internet explorer? the one i am using came packaged with my windows xp sp1. every now and then it says there are new updates which are awaiting and i download them and install them
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 08:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i did the sfc thing, i was prompted to put in the windows xp cd, the computer scanned and then nothing seemed to happen

did i miss anything?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 01:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 130
Default

Hey rookie1010,

Open up Internet Explorer and go to Tools, Windows Update
while connected to the internet. Then let Microsoft scan your
computer and select the updates you want to install.

Good Luck.
Worked4me is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

no u didnt miss anything it just wanted the cd to compare ur sys files to the ones on the cd and like i said if ur lucky, it doesnt usually fix anything altho its easy to do so its always worth a shot, i dunno even why they have the scannow option as its always sposed to be running in the background and its not sposed to let sys files get changed in the first place. if u want to try and reinstall read this previous thread from me http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=14475
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 08:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

hey workedforme, i downloaded and installed the updates, man, they were big, and they did take their sweet time, nto seen any of my programs take so much time to install.

neversleeps i will check your thread out
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 03:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
__________________

PicHold is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.