Internet Explorer 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2004, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Internet Explorer 6

System is XPpro + SP2.

I have a very peculiar problem in IE6 and need advice.
I can run Explorer for such things as Windows updating and is OK for MSN browser and BTOpenworld.

But when I try to open from the Explorer icon, nothing happens.
checked and changed the default address in Internet Options/Internet Properties/Apply/OK, then immediately the address when Internet Options is re-opened, becomes nonsense, something like ???#?##S???#???#???# and, not surprisingly trying to run from the IE6 icon, it baulks. However after a re-boot I do get a proper default address, but it becomes nonsense upon activating the icon.

All other programs work perfectly!

Does anyone have a clue please?
__________________

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
CPU
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Are you trying to open from the shortcut icon Arbib?
__________________

CPU is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Internet Explorer 6

Yes! The interesting thing is that on rebooting the correct the current address is loaded and It opens from the icon. If then you use this as the defaut address, then apply and OK, when you then return to the address it has been replaced with the nonsense address I have described. the "#" items are actually small squares which my e-mail cannot reproduce
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Rebuild your icon, or source it from the original folder.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

I have done do by using the XPpro CD and Add/Remove / Add component and also from the CD itself.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
I have done do
You gotta stop doing do, man...do is bad for you.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Internet Explorer 6

So, Ultra Techie, what next? Why does the default address diappear on re-opening, to be replaced by gobblydegook? My problem would disappear if you can explain and rectify, perhaps in Registry.
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Your problem is unusual. You're on the right track though. If you've re-created that icon and it's still futzing up, check out your registry. (You'll have to search www.microsoft.com for the correct reg key. I don't memorize them.)

My next question to you would be "What the hell did you do to this thing?" I haven't seen this yet (or at least can't remember seeing it before). What did you do?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default

???? S????????? This is what I get after re-opening
Internet options. And, of course, the Icon cannot open with this address. I need to know why, after inserting the correct address
the system insists on replacing it with is nonsense. I have asked Microsoft for their ideas, but I suspect it is some .dll that has become corrupted. I will "Search" for this nonsence to try to find
where it originates
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

Have you tried Spybot S&D or May be Hijack This! or CWShredder
__________________

__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.