Internet Connection Sharing & Zonealarm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2003, 06:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters
Default Internet Connection Sharing & Zonealarm

Hope someone can help me!

I have laptop which is networked to my desktop which is connected to the internet (whew!!). I am trying to use internet connection sharing so that I can browse with either computer (also so my laptop can run folding@home and get wu's, etc). Here is the problem. I run Zonealarm on the desktop and for some reason, it will not allow the laptop to access the internet. I have my ethernet connections set to the trusted zone. Everything works when Zonealarm is shut down, but is blocked when ZA is running.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home

http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/foldi..._original&.jpg
daveppeters is offline  
Old 05-14-2003, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Dave,

look to the thread,"zonealarm"...

I am sure that you will find that you are not alone with the problem,, ZA is a software firewall that requires LOTS and LOTS of tweaking,,

its first rule is to DENY ALL,, then you have to be very FINE GRAINED in giving permissions back,,

After hours (and I mean HOURS,,) of tweaking, I finally ditched it, and let the router do the trick,,

thats the best I have to offer,,

good luck
cheers,
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 05-14-2003, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Make sure that all common ports, especially port 80 are open.

I also believe that ICS has a certain port that must be open, but I cant remember.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.