Which internet browser do you use? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: My Main Rig is.....
totally ****in sick! 6 33.33%
decent but cheap****. 1 5.56%
okay, could do better. 7 38.89%
****in retarded who the hell would build that? 4 22.22%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 02:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

To the two people that said they use IE, I think you should try Firefox. Trust me, you won't regret it.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, my parents use IE and last I checked, they had 4 toolbars. Alexa, MyWebSearch, Google, and Yahoo.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Alot of people purposaly put in google or yahoo.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I'm using IE. Have no problems. I have a toolbar, called MSN Toolbar. If you take care of your system, you more than likely wont have any problems. I aint switching. IE has always run stable for me. Just wait till Firefox starts getting hit with spyware, exploits, etc. Everyone will be in the same boat as IE. Of course IE has a lot of security issues, it's because it the DOMINANT browser and always will be, so the hackers or whatever you want to call them will choose this first over FF, same with Linux users, if Linux was the dominant OS, they would have the same problems as Windows. Just think, if there wasnt anyone try to exploit programs and software, all software would be perfect, and no one would have any problems with it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I like firefox only because it seems to be when I visit some websites with IE it will have my username and pass saved like I told it to but I still have to login, when I tell firefox to save my name and pass whenever I go back to the website I am ALREADY logged in, perhaps IE can do that too but I haven't figured it out. it is so convenient to not have to log in if you don't have to worry about others on your comp
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

All that is, it's just a settings in your internet options called autocomplete. Just turn it on.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

...what about Avant Browser ....Ah well...I think it utilises explorer anyways .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 11:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ive used Avant, its ok, but i like firefox better
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 03:26 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default

I feel Firefox is more stable then IE and faster. Until the day comes when Firefox is hit with the spyware expoits ... Firefox is the better browser. In my opinion.
Iantosca is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 04:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

I use ff, couple reasons,

1. I switched to ff while I left my parents computer with explorer, after a couple of days I ran adaware, mine was 3, theirs was 30+.

2. FF isn't tied to the OS like IE seems to be, the 4 times ff has freezes it seems to leave the OS fully functioning. IE on the other seems to often take down the OS when it freezes(not all the time though)

3. FF seems to load quicker, and have less popups.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.