Intel Pentium M - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Question Intel Pentium M

I'm purchasing a laptop with Pentium M and don't want to be outdated before school ends( 4-5 years). Will a 1.6 GHz do or should I opt very expensively for the 1.86? This particular notebook does not offer the 1.73GHz.

What will the difference be if any that I will notice between the two and can I survive that long on a 1.6 if necessary without any huge problems? Thanks for your input in advance!
__________________

bethanybaldwin is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Im sure the 1.6 will be fine unless you got money to spend
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Just get the 1.6
turtile is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Sorry for my ignorance on intel processor speeds but don't they reach 3.6 Ghz already?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

As far as I know, Pentium M goes to 2Ghz as of right now unless I'm mistaken. Intel Pentium 4 goes over 3 I believe though. Apparently Pentium M is faster and consumes less energy than the pentium 4's even with HT Tech.
bethanybaldwin is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

How can that be if Pentinium for is 3.6 Ghz and M is only 2 Ghz. How do you measure speed isn't it Ghz?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 10:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Not sure, tried to understand it all at intel.com/intel.ca but it's a little confusing. you can compare speeds only with the processor within the same class. however...at pcworld.com they said their tests ran the Pentium M (which notebooks are moving towards these days and Pentium 4 (HT too) is going the way of the dodo because of the Pentium M to cut back on heatup, weight, and ability to run on less power or something. ) computed faster than the once rival Pentium 4. Confused yet?
bethanybaldwin is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 10:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Very much so I wish there was a standard accepted by both AMD and all intel brands for speed.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

For school work, you will probably be fine. Unless you are going to be doing some cpu intensive apps...What will you be working on mainly? Word, excel??
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 10:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Yep word programs. I also work on a hobby basis with digital photos/video from my camera. I should still be okay though right? Basically it'll just be a too to up load and burn on to a DVD/CD for storage, not for keeping on the comp.
__________________

bethanybaldwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.