Intel Graphics Driver: System booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default Intel Graphics Driver: System booting

Hi from yesterday i am having this problem.

after i switch on my system, it automatically shuts down (no display on screen, black screen i.e.) and then i have to restart. after whi ch i get a message "system has recovered from serious error, report to microsoft"

so i did today and was directed to the following page...

http://oca.microsoft.com/en/response...ec54b1&SID=519

Message There Said:

Solution found: contact Intel® Corporation to obtain the update

Problem description

Thank you for submitting an error report. The error was likely caused by:

Intel Graphics Driver

Solution

Intel Graphics Driver was created by Intel® Corporation. Intel® Corporation informed Microsoft that they have a solution available for the problem you reported. To learn more about the solution, Intel® Corporation recommends that you visit the following website:

Intel® Corporation


More information

Microsoft did not create, nor does it provide technical support for Intel Graphics Driver.
If you have trouble installing the fix or the problem you reported persists, please contact Intel® Corporation and alert them of the problem.


After i clicked on Intel link i went to this page:

http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-004230.htm

Message there said:

Graphics
hkcmd.exe or hccutils.dll error or system crash with Symantec* PCAnywhere*



Symptom(s):


Error: "hkcmd.exe - Entry Point Not Found"
Error: "IsDisplayValid could not be located in the dynamic link library hccutils.dll"
System boots into VGA mode after installing the graphics driver.
System gets a blue screen error or reboots when accessing Display Properties.
System gets a blue screen error or reboots when right clicking on the desktop.
System gets a blue screen error or reboots when clicking on the Intel® icon in the system tray.

Solution:
Download and install version 6.5.2 or later of the graphics drivers (EXE format). Alternatively, download the graphics drivers in ZIP format, extract the ZIP file, then run the following command line:
setup -16x800x600x60

After installing the updated drivers, you may need to switch PCAnywhere* into compatibility mode and back into accelerated mode by doing the following:
1) Start the system in Safe Mode by pressing F8 during bootup.
2) Run PCAnywhere.
3) From the "Tools" menu, choose "Application Options"
4) Go to the "Host Operation" tab
5) From the "Video mode selection" drop-down list, choose "Compatibility".
6) Reboot the system.
7) Switch back to accelerated mode.

This applies to: Intel® 82810 Graphics Controller
Intel® 82815 Graphics Controller



Solution ID: CS-004230 (9.0.1020104.3226954)
Date Created: 30-Dec-2002
Last Modified: 23-Jun-2006


Solution page led to:

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...ort_Intel.aspx



My Questions Are:

What exactly happened here?
Whats Intel Graphics do?
What exact product/support must i now download from the solutions page to fix this problem?

please if anyone has any idea help me.
__________________

__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

i forgot to mention i also got a hot key error but before i could send error report it crashed again and then i didnt get it!
__________________

__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

Device Manager properties states: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

i updated the driver to latest version PV14.17

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...4&submit=Go%21

On start up the first message that greets me is "system has recovered from serious error, contact microsoft..." etc

so i am directed to the Microsoft online crash analtsis page and shown same error "it has been caused by graphics driver"!

i checked the device manager and saw the driver has updated!

so what is causing the message now?

note that i didnt have another shutdown again. but that may be because i wasnt online for too long.

could it be because i must also update driver on Windows 98?

this update was performed on my XP Professional.

kindly help with some ideas...
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Do a system restore to a few days ago, or reinstall windows.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sion, bombay, india
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to vicky116
Default

a system restore. ok

but what exactly could be causing this problem!???
__________________
Always a Leo lover. :P InFoRmAtIoN wArHoRsE

http://vidhyutksworld.blogspot.com/
http://www.hingis.org
vicky116 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I had the same problem after I tried to instal a new graphics card. Then I tried toswitch back to my old one. Same message. After I went through all the so called "Solutions" I ended up having to reformat my comp and install new graphics card from sytem setup. I still dont really know what the **** happened but I lost everything I held dear to me that day.
DeathGod is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vicky116
but what exactly could be causing this problem!???
Do you really need to ask??? WINDOWS!!
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.