Intel or AMD and why? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 12:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Well from all the reports, some from Intel themself, that the 64 bit processors were rushed and not where they should be. They are "sub-par" and fall short of the AMD 64 chip capabilties. For the story go here and see what Intel had to say on this matter.
THAT for me is reason alone to stick with AMD!
*Shivers*
I DO commend them however, for thier honesty, which is a rarity in this world!
__________________

takezo3001 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 12:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well right now they say that they are a hack and blah blah blah. That doesnt mean that it will stay that way. Who knows with the next generation of chips brings. I will get an AMD and try it out and do a comparison myself. But for now Intel has not done me wrong.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via Yahoo to -mist|mac-
Default

I've used intel for 2 years. It overheated and I needed to replace them so I bought AMD which is alot cheaper and is as fast as intel petium 4(1.8 GHz). Still running for almost 3 years now. My pc runs fine, I hardly experience any crashing than what I mostly get when I used to have intel.( That's when I broke my hard disk for always kicking it because the freaking screen always freezes) I'm not being biased here, I'm just stating my experience. So, if you ask me, basing on my own experience, I'd choose AMD. It's more reliable, less expensive, and you get more than what you paid for IMHO.
__________________
I\'ll forever stay your perfect enemy..
-mist|mac- is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -mist|mac-
I've used intel for 2 years. It overheated and I needed to replace them so I bought AMD which is alot cheaper and is as fast as intel petium 4(1.8 GHz). Still running for almost 3 years now. My pc runs fine, I hardly experience any crashing than what I mostly get when I used to have intel.( That's when I broke my hard disk for always kicking it because the freaking screen always freezes) I'm not being biased here, I'm just stating my experience. So, if you ask me, basing on my own experience, I'd choose AMD. It's more reliable, less expensive, and you get more than what you paid for IMHO.
this is exactly what most people experience, who have had both processors
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Just a question about AMD. What is the top speed of their processor line. I have a 3.4GHz with HT. When i go to the 64 bit line i would like something comparable. What are your suggestions and thoughts on this?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 09:38 PM   #26 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Just a question about AMD. What is the top speed of their processor line. I have a 3.4GHz with HT. When i go to the 64 bit line i would like something comparable. What are your suggestions and thoughts on this?
a 3.4 gig pent is the equivalent of an amd 3400
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 05:13 AM   #27 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

read the benchmark scores

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/artic...,122095,00.asp

Nuff said
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 11:53 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Well from all the reports, some from Intel themself, that the 64 bit processors were rushed and not where they should be. They are "sub-par" and fall short of the AMD 64 chip capabilties. For the story go here and see what Intel had to say on this matter.
That article was about dual core cpu's, not 64 bit.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.