Intel or AMD and why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Intel or AMD and why?

i was wondering what proccesor is better Intel of AMD. because im confusedl, AMD claims to be faster but the intel has higher processing speed (3.8 ghz dual core).
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I like AMD better, it just suits me better. They are also quite a bit cheaper than Intel I think.
__________________

MainEvent is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

AMD puts out more FLOPS than an Intel chip of the same clock speed. a 2GHz Athlon is significantly faster than a 2GHz Pentium, so you can't compare them by GHz.
I don't have the exact numbers as to how they compare, unfortunately, but i can tell you that the fastest AMD chips on the market still offer higher performance than the fastest Intels. They are also more economic than intels, as a general rule. (you get more bang for your buck).

AMD has a dual-core now too...
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._13041,00.html
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Amd is better for gameing. Intel is better for multi windows such as searching the web or using photoshop and stuff like.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

somewhere I heard that intel is better for multimedia and amd was better for gaming, so it really depends on how much you want to spend and what you want to do.
I'd personally use amd
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Something that you might want to keep in mind is that Intel only makes 32 bit processors not 64 bits. AMD makes 64 bit and when Longhorn comes out next year it'll only work on PCs with 64 bit processors.
Snyder is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Actually Intel does make 64bit now its just that they are not as good as AMD 64bit chips. As for the answer it is all personal preference. Intel has been good to me for the 10+ years i have used them. No problem with the processors just with the OS. So it all depends on what you want to do with the PC.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I thought they were making 32bit longhorn for the older computers.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

From what I know of processors, when you get down to the baiscs, AMD and Intel are pretty much the same thing. The differece comes from how they are arranged on the die and how much cache they provide.
The AMD chips are better for gamming and things that use flaoting point. Intel has had a lot of problems with that for years. AMD came away in the head when it came to floating point. As to what intell is good at, it's kind of up in the air. The new processors are not performing anywhere near the simular AMD's, but they do have better integrety when it comes to the way data is sent in and how it comes out. From what I recall, Intel chips have a lot less data loss and also provide a high level of heat and fault tolerance, where as AMD doens't... but that is what I recall...
might find you a link if I have time...
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snyder
Something that you might want to keep in mind is that Intel only makes 32 bit processors not 64 bits. AMD makes 64 bit and when Longhorn comes out next year it'll only work on PCs with 64 bit processors.
P4 670, 660, 650, 640(which I'm running), 630, 571, 561, 551, 541, 531 and 521 all support 64 bit technology. So does the P4 840EE, Pentium D 820, 830, 840, and even some Celeron processors.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.