Intalling XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2004, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Intalling XP Pro

Can you install XP on something other than the C: drive?

I want to install windows and a few games on a 10,000RPM raptor SATA drive and use my 120GB SATA for storage. BUT! I don't want EVERY program i install default to the C: (Raptor) drive.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Sure....your C: drive is abitrary....you don't have to install on C: But, you will have to partition your drive in advance and then choose another drive letter for your windows installation.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

ummm a little more guidance maybe?

When i go to install XP, i put in the CD, boot up on the CD, tell it to delete my old partition, then what?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 03:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U need prolly at least 2 primary partitions to make Windows use a different driveletter. The first will become c: and the second will be d:

I am not sure, though. I havent tried it. I would have o ask my uncle, his Windows is L:/

Anyways...you can also install programs on another HD manually. Choose the folder urself.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor

Anyways...you can also install programs on another HD manually. Choose the folder urself.
That is EXACTLY what i'm trying to avoid. I would rather not specify the drive every time I install or save a file. I would go insane.

Can you change the drive letter after it's been partitioned?

Scenario: I have 2 drives I want windows on drive Z: or any letter but A:, C:, D:, E:, how?

I dunno why it would be so hard for windows to just change the Fin letter after install, but whatever.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 04:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

come on, nobody knows how to install on a second drive? if so please explain to me it layman's terms, well maybe not retard level but step by step install
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well...
u should get partition magic and create 2 primary partitions and put Windows XP on the second primary partition. It will automatically get D:/

you can select the partition easily during installation.

The first primary partition is always C:/

Windows will assign driveletters to the partitions. The first primary partition on the first harddrive will become C:/
the second primary partition will be d:/ and then it assigns names to logical partitions: E:/, F:/, G:/... etc
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default

right click on my computer and click on manage. enter storage where it shows you your logical (like daemon images) and physical drives. If you enter one of the settings you can unmount drives and change drive letters. Then You can do what ever you want and control where u want to install XP.
NYCtech174 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

XP has to be on the booting drive, because it's the OS. You can change the letter of the drive, and you can install XP on another driver, but you still have to boot to THAT drive to bring up the OS.

The registry path set for saving and installing files is not the same for all applications and instances.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.