instopts.dat - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default instopts.dat

help, i am trying to uninstall norton system works and when i try to is says it can due to a file instopts.dat no being present.

the help guides on the internet are not helpful because i do not have the registary symantec their.

any knowledge would be much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
My mac:

# 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
# 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512MB
# ATI Radeon X1600 with 256MB VRAM
# 250GB Serial ATA drive
# 20-inch TFT display
# 8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
# AirPort Extreme
# Bluetooth 2.0
muppetman2000 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

BACK UP THE REGISTRY FIRST!

On the Windows desktop, click Start > Run.
When the Run dialog box appears, type regedit and then click OK.
When the Registry Editor opens, navigate to and select the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr ent
Version\Uninstall\Symsetup

Press Delete, and then click Yes to confirm.
Repeat steps 3 and 4 for the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Symantec\Symsetup

Exit the Registry.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

i have done the first key and removed it but i can not find Symsetup in Symantec
__________________
My mac:

# 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
# 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512MB
# ATI Radeon X1600 with 256MB VRAM
# 250GB Serial ATA drive
# 20-inch TFT display
# 8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
# AirPort Extreme
# Bluetooth 2.0
muppetman2000 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

it may be already deleted does the error continue to show?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

thanks its uninstalled
__________________
My mac:

# 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
# 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512MB
# ATI Radeon X1600 with 256MB VRAM
# 250GB Serial ATA drive
# 20-inch TFT display
# 8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
# AirPort Extreme
# Bluetooth 2.0
muppetman2000 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

Windows Installer 3.1

After you install that update, visit below

Visit Here

let us know

NM
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Default

thnks for the link to uninstaller i have installed it, but i do not need the symantec removal tool as i have already uninstalled norton. thanks though
__________________

__________________
My mac:

# 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
# 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512MB
# ATI Radeon X1600 with 256MB VRAM
# 250GB Serial ATA drive
# 20-inch TFT display
# 8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
# AirPort Extreme
# Bluetooth 2.0
muppetman2000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.