Installing XP home on a dinosaur - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default Installing XP home on a dinosaur

I was helping a friend to install xp on his really old gateway (sorry, but I don't remember the model). Everything went fine until the installation was finished. When I booted up the computer, the only profile on the startup menu was password protected. When I tried entering a password, an error message came up saying that the domain couldn't be contacted or didn't exist.
I was using a recovery disk from a different, and somewhat newer gateway, so I don't know if that caused the problem. Any light shed on why this error occurred would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Erty is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

You should never use a recovery disk from a different model man.

By doing so, you installed drivers, files, promotions, core dll's, and preferences that were specific to another PC and most likely out of date.

Contact Gateway and get the correct disks.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default

To be exact, I do have the correct disk. The correct disk had 98 on it, and my friend's parents wanted xp. I usually would have said that it wouldn't work, but then the disk (newer one) said that it was compatible with all gateway comps.

Anyway, thanks for your help.
Erty is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

that recovery cd is probably an image of the other gateway or pc specific
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Recovery discs may say they are compatable with all Gateway PCs, but what they really mean is they are compatable with all Gateway PCs released in that time. Using a new recovery disc on a very old Gateway just isn't going to happen. If it came with Windows 98, it may or may not run XP either. How old exactly is it?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default

The model number is G6-366C. I did some looking around but couldn't find out how old it is. I'm assuming is is at least 6 or 7 years old. Anyway, I got my friend's parents to go with windows 98 so its kind of a mute point now.
__________________

Erty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.