Installing Windows XP to a SATA drive without a floppy drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2006, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default Installing Windows XP to a SATA drive without a floppy drive

Hey, i recently ghosted my 250gb ATA 133 drive to a 200gb SATA drive. I made sure I installed the drivers before I imaged so it would boot and detect correctly. It worked fine for 2 months. I am currently contemplating re-installing Windows because of a few problems with my current installation and general junking up of the OS. I have a SP2 disc but i dont have a Floppy drive installed and i really dont want to install one just for the SATA drivers. Is there any way to install XP to a SATA drive without a floppy disk?

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Wayne I am actually in the same boat you are as we speak I dont know if its an option to search your CD-ROM drive for drivers or not. I have never had to do it so I willl tell you my findings when I get done tonight...It is going to be a bit harder for me as I am setting 2X250GB SATA drives in a RAID0..wish me luck..lol.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

good luck mate, ugh raid without drivers is going to be tricky. Windows XP installer hates detecting things!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 07:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well the only way is to either get a copy of XP that has the SATA drivers installed. (I have one like that for my PC since it is SATA) or you can always slipstream the SATA Drivers into your XP install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yea it looks like Mak hit it on the ball. I dont see a way around a floppy unless you slipstream the drivers into the install. I had to break down and rig up a floppy drive to install the driver. It was all actually very easy. The setup is FAST it installed XP PRO in about 9 minutes..I was scared..lol. Now I got all my software installed so time to make a new image
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well that is good you got it installed. My installs average about 10-12 minutes. That is if i am sitting there. From setup to format to file install it is quick.

Glad you got it working Win2k.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

On some pc I need to slip them, on others, windows recognizes them
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i might go and give slipstreaming a go with my motherboard and graphics drivers.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

SATA drivers are in service pack 2. i didn't have to install sata drivers off from a floppy cuz they're already included in SP2. installed windows straight to my sata hd
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 06:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Not all SATA drivers are included. Some of them are newer than SP2 and still need to be slipstreamed in. Other are just generic ones that allow for an install.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.