Installing Windows XP question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2005, 12:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I was able to install XP, but I could not get a connection to the internet. I called roadrunner, they tried some things and gave me a number for microsoft. I don't want to pay $35 for them to help me though.

I'm guessing there a couple possibilities why I could not get a connection. I did not uninstall McAfee VirusScan for Win9x.

Or There was some incompatible Hardware Accessories.

Network adapters
WAN Miniport (ATW)

Any suggestions? Thanks.
__________________

Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
you may want to d/l a new network card driver for xp so you can get to the inet
What do I need to do to d/l a new network card driver for xp? Thanks.
__________________

Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 03:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you need to know the manufacturer and model of the nic. then goto the manufacturer website, search for that model's drivers, and download them. Put on cd or floppy, install driver on xp pc.
office politics is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
you need to know the manufacturer and model of the nic.
Sorry for being ignorant, but how do I find out the manufacturer and model of the nic? Thanks.
Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

is your network card a card plugged into the mobo? or is it soddered directly to the mobo?

if its a card then you have to open your machine, pull out the network card, and look for the maker and model written on the card. or if you still have the box it came in, it should be written on that as well.

if its on the mobo, then you have to either use msinfo32 to find out the make and model of the mobo. Or open the case and look for the maker and model of the mobo.
office politics is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 06:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I would guess it is plugged into the mobo. I have not done anything to the pc since I bought it in '99.

I would be happy giving up and staying with Windows 98 but now I have a new problem. After I uninstalled Windows XP Pro, I am back to Windows 98se. I can be on the internet for around 10 minutes and then I lose connection to internet explorer, netscape, and mozilla. I have to shut down the computer and start again. Then same thing happens, I am on the internet for 10 minutes or so then I lose connection. Not sure what is going on. I am very close to just going out and buying a new computer tomorrow.
Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 07:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I forgot to mention. I lose internet connection(web pages won't load), but I can still use AOL instant messenger and Outlook Express.
Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 01:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I did a restore windows 98 - will not format hdd and I am able to use the internet correctly now. Now I'm debating if I should try to upgrade again or not.
Shotgun98 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 12:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

I decided to go ahead and try upgrading again. It worked with 0 problems. Not sure what the original problem was, but restoring Win 98 and then upgrading worked. Now I just need to download some different software I had installed and I will be all set.

Thanks for those who offered advice.
__________________

Shotgun98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.