Installing Windows XP onto a blank Harddrive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 05:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Then I get back to 'BOOT DISK FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER'. Is this the point where I shouldn't press or do anything?
__________________

JumpManboy is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 06:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JumpManboy
Then I get back to 'BOOT DISK FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER'. Is this the point where I shouldn't press or do anything?
you leave the cd (it still need stuff off of the cd) in the drive and then do nothing.

make sure you boot order in the bios is
1.cd rom
2.0 IDE hard drive
3.floppy
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 08:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

You guys are all absolute legends for helping me out like this. I've spent 15 hours trying to get the new computer to work so your help is more appreciated than you know.
JumpManboy is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 09:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JumpManboy
You guys are all absolute legends for helping me out like this. I've spent 15 hours trying to get the new computer to work so your help is more appreciated than you know.
so you got it working, right?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 04:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Well, no but I'm still grateful.

If I don't have the CD in the drive and I don't press anything then it just stays at 'BOOT DISK FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER'. If I do have the CD in the drive then it goes to Set-up.
JumpManboy is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

well try this. boot from the cd. let it copy the files. when it go to restart, go into bios and take the cd rom off of the boot menu. save the change and exit. when it restarts make sure the XP cd is still in the drive

it won't boot off the cd now, so it should resume setup
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 56
Default

it all happens beacuse you wouldnt have installed the drivers/controllers for your hdd...
when the blue screen appears first...
there will be a option press f6 to install SCSI driver..something like that i'm not pretty about the exact pharse....
anyway..press F6 and install SATA controllers
provided for your HDD...
this will solve the problem......i believe
saravanakumar is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 56
Default

edit:........pretty sure....
saravanakumar is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:20 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saravanakumar
it all happens beacuse you wouldnt have installed the drivers/controllers for your hdd...
when the blue screen appears first...
there will be a option press f6 to install SCSI driver..something like that i'm not pretty about the exact pharse....
anyway..press F6 and install SATA controllers
provided for your HDD...
this will solve the problem......i believe
oh I didn't notice that he had a sata drive. he didn't mention it and I don't pay that much attention to signatures
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 01:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

That's it! My new computer is officially up and running! TRhank you so much for all your help, especially you last two posters, you have made my day.

I'll be back on here once my new computer is up and running under broadband.
__________________

JumpManboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.