Installing Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Default Installing Windows XP

Hi,
II have decided to install my windows xp again and remove the previous one. This is the first time I’m installing windows xp. Can someone post me a guide that will help to install windows xp. One more thing is that the Windows XP CD that I have is older than the version I’m using right now. Is it ok to install the older version?
__________________

Amirr is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Insert cd in cd drive, boot from it, make sure your bios is set to boot from cd first, most systems will boot from cd even if the bios is not set to boot from cd drive, then just follow the steps. pretty simple. Choose ntfs.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Default

thanks for the reply
but i want to have some of my files and i want to move them to the new windows drive. Like some pictures and other stuff. where can i move those to the new version i'm installing?
Amirr is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

you can save them to a CD-R, which is what i usually do.. unless you have a partition/harddrive that you are saving and not reformatting, that is the only way to really do it.
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheRecluse
you can save them to a CD-R, which is what i usually do.. unless you have a partition/harddrive that you are saving and not reformatting, that is the only way to really do it.
I have about 84 GB files that I want to keep. I have seen people that have a folder from their previous windows. How can I do that? I mean I have folder named AF and I want to move that folder to the new version of windows I’m installing.
Amirr is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

you could move it to another harddrive, or you could use something like partition magic to repartition your drive so you could move your files to the second partition and reformat your OS partition.. or maybe DVDs could be an option?

there are also one touch backup drives.. you could check those out as an investment
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 04:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amirr
I have about 84 GB files that I want to keep. I have seen people that have a folder from their previous windows. How can I do that? I mean I have folder named AF and I want to move that folder to the new version of windows I’m installing.
there a way to do it the way you want. I forgot the exact steps. look it up in pc world. Maybe the 5 or 6 months ago issue
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 05:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
there a way to do it the way you want. I forgot the exact steps. look it up in pc world. Maybe the 5 or 6 months ago issue
is that without creating a partition?
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

What do you mean the xp cd is older than the one your using right now?

You can re-install XP over the XP that's on their now and even though you'll lose all your programs, your data SHOULD still be there.

There are other ways people will say the've done it, it's always best to safely backup your data onto another storage medium before doing a fresh install. With the price of hard drives these days, do yourself a favor and buy a new one. Then you can use Windows XP file and settings transfer wizard to back up everything.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BASSMASTER
You can re-install XP over the XP that's on their now and even though you'll lose all your programs, your data SHOULD still be there.
Well that wouldn't make much sense if he was reinstalling to remove spyware/adware/viruses...
__________________

__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.