installing win98se - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2003, 09:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default installing win98se

ok this sounds dumb but im having a hell time trying to install win98se,

anyways, can someoen like give me a exact tutorial how to go through it? using fdisk and everythin ect..?

thanks
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default Re: installing win98se

Quote:
Originally posted by spfd
ok this sounds dumb but im having a hell time trying to install win98se,

anyways, can someoen like give me a exact tutorial how to go through it? using fdisk and everythin ect..?

thanks
Assuming your CD is bootable:

Go to BIOS, and change your boot sequence to CD first.

Put your Win 98 CD in the drive, and restart your computer.

Hit a key to boot from the CD when prompted, and from the menu you'll see an option of "Start Windows Setup" or something similar to that, so select that option, and the windows setup will start.

If your CD is not bootable, take a boot disk, and boot from it (change boot sequence to boot from floppy)
Restart your computer, and when prompted select "start computer with cdrom support"
This will take you to dos. Now just type the letter of your cdrom (it will be displayed after the computer boots up into DOS) and run setup.exe.
__________________

__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

for some reason boot fails..
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spfd
for some reason boot fails..
More info needed please.

Which method did you use, and what was the error message?
__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does it go through the POST? (Power On Self Test)
- this just checks what hardware you have and if it has any errors, before loading the Operating System.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 07:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

the hard drive works fine but when i try to format the partiitions i made it says "trying to reallocate blah blah"
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

LOL funny that I am having the same problem on a client's PC!
This, or in my case, THESE messages indicate that the format program is having way too much difficulty formatting your drive. This "high level" formatting process only creates the logical formatting structure of the hard disk. In this case, the system will try and re-image the structure of the drive, but if it find bad blocks on the drive then it will attempt to reallocate these blocks.
The system that I was working on was doing this waaaaay too often. The format process was taking over 2 hours and in this particular case, after this amount of time it was only at 17%.
Not saying that this is what you should do, but the only way that I was able to fix it was to "low level" format the drive. This, very basically, physically restructures the disk into sectors and tracks so that the "high level" format can rebuild itself on this new foundation.
After the low level was complete I was able to re-format using the 98 boot disk just fine.

I'm sure that you know you are doing dude, and there are programs to help you through the low-level format process, but I still must warn you. PLEASE be careful with any low-level format process. This is usually done by the drive manu. and can RUIN your drive if not done properly.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

umm any programs u know?
im on a maxtor quantium fireball or somethin like like that
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 08:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters
Default

This program should be what you need. It is a utility from Maxtor that will run diagnostics on your hard drive and also allow you to run a low-level format. Make sure you read the instructions - it is pretty easy to use, I have used it myself. Here is the link: http://www.maxtor.com/en/support/downloads/powermax.htm
__________________
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home

http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/foldi..._original&.jpg
daveppeters is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 02:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quantum Fireball??? i used to have one and it killed itself. I found out that the Quantum Fireball is not a very good Hard Drive (I have a Seagate drive now)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.