Installing Win 2000 (booting to CD ?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2005, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Bryansrt
Default Installing Win 2000 (booting to CD ?)

My Win2000 Advanced Server CD will not boot. How can I get my PC booted to start the install? It will boot a Win XP disc with ease. I have an authentic COA & called microsoft but they were no help.

Any ideas?


EDIT: THe HD is currently blank, formatted with NTFS.
__________________

Bryansrt is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

hmmm wierd , donno , but you can try setting the cd drive as first boot devise or hit f11 upon starting the computer.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Try a 98 boot disk, run winnt
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

that will work
jaksback is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I dunno if there's any difference between 2k Pro and 2k Advanced Server, but the 98 bootdisks don't work with my 2k.

Get the 2k disks from www.bootdisk.com or create them using the 2k disk. There's a folder called BOOTDISK somewhere on the disc. It holds 2 files to make bootdisks. 1 for w32 and 1 for DOS. You can use an 98 disk to acces the disc from DOS.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 09:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Bryansrt
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I dunno if there's any difference between 2k Pro and 2k Advanced Server, but the 98 bootdisks don't work with my 2k.

Get the 2k disks from www.bootdisk.com or create them using the 2k disk. There's a folder called BOOTDISK somewhere on the disc. It holds 2 files to make bootdisks. 1 for w32 and 1 for DOS. You can use an 98 disk to acces the disc from DOS.
looks like i need to pick up a floppy drive. I haven't used one in years.

Thanks!
__________________

Bryansrt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.