installing vista??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2006, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default installing vista???

i have vista set up files on a separate hard drive and i am wondering if it is possible to boot the setup from the hard drive without being in winows! helpwould be appreciated!

thnx
__________________

ecurb16 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 07:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There are 2 ways, burn a image of the ISO to a DVD or (what I do) is mount the image with Daemon tools and select the partition I want it to install to.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default

hi there the problem is i dont have a dvd writer and i want to fromat my 80gb hard drive and install off my 5gb is this possibe???
ecurb16 is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

5GB is not big enough for Vista. I think it requires 15GB to install and uses 10GB of that for the final installed version.

As I said, there are only 2 ways to install it. If you don't have XP you need to burn it to a disk.

Also, you can't install 64bit Vista from 32bit XP.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Vista requires at least 20GB for install. If you dont have a DVD Burner what you need to do is use Daemon tools or something like that and extract the ISO to the 5 GB partition. From there run the setup from within XP. It will work then.

My piece of advice dont think you can use Vista as a main OS. I have tried and found myself back in XP many times. Nero doesnt work right, let alone anti-virus apps. No firewall apps isntall. Other software for overclockig doesnt work. Firefox and Opera are both buggy in Vista. So there are many bugs to be ironed out before you can use Vista as a main OS. Hence the term Beta.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.