Installing OS Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Question Installing OS Problem

Hi everyone Im trying to install windows xp on a HP pavilion but everytime I go through the setup process the computer just restarts and the whole thing starts again. Any suggestions? Thanks
__________________

linkstain is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Terencentanio Send a message via Yahoo to Terencentanio
Default

The OS will more than likely reboot during the install anyway... you sure it starts RIGHT at the beginning?

You also need to totally format teh HDD. Get a decent formatter and go over it 4-10 times. Then try again.

Otherwise, sounds like a BIOS/HDD problem.
__________________

__________________
* Your high priced security consultant\'s plane ticket: $1500
* Your high priced security consultant\'s time: $200/hour
* RealSecure nodes all over your company: $200,000
* Getting owned by 0day: Priceless
Terencentanio is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to www.bootdisk.com and download the Win98 bootdisk, delete your partition, recreate it, format it with the bootdisk, thenn format it once again with the XP cd and you should be fine.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I know when you install an OS it restarts many times, but what im saying is the setup process starts all over again when the computer restarts. Instead of continuing the installion process everything just starts over again.
linkstain is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Ill give that a try WM, thanx!
linkstain is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Take the CD out after it restarts, works for me. Either that or leave it in, but i just forget.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.