Installing an OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2004, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28
Question Installing an OS

I am purchasing a reburbished Dell with no OS. How difficult is it to install an OS. Say XP Pro to be exact. Will this include the drivers I will need to use the onboard hardware like to ethernet card and drives?

justadummy is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 90

Easy, depending on how tech-savy you are. XP Pro typically installs most of the drivers for you. If you pay attention to what it asks when installing the OS you should have no problems. If you decide to install hardware after the OS has been installed, XP will recognize it and even prompt you to find drivers.

Life is so simple these days when it comes to installing an OS.

frankieee is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
paintballer's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317

It's very easy. When you get the computer let us know and I will walk you through it.
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns·G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 28

Thank you! I'll be sure to look you up when I get the unit.
justadummy is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 11:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60

Its pretty much just a "next.... next.... yes.... ok...." process unless you are doing advanced stuff ... but even then you can always make changes after install. Its pretty straight forward... depending on the release of the copy of XP pro you have, it may or may not have all the drivers you need on the CD...

After I do an install, I just get the NIC driver first then go to all the manufacturers websites and get updated drivers for all my hardware..... (actually i dont but its the right answer)
Seattle Computer and Laptop Repair
Datazing is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

Should install your motherbroad driver first processor (Intel INF update).Then your hard drive with (Intel Application Accelerator ).Well at least my board.

Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.