installing new hard drive w/ skuzzy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default installing new hard drive w/ skuzzy

i have a dell with a skuzzy hard drive and i bought a second hard drive that i want to install. i plugged it into the moutherboard with no jumpers and it didnt find it. i cant make the skuzzy a master and the new one a slave cuz i understand the skuzzys dont work like that. wat can i do to get both running?
__________________

no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

is it possible to go into bios and makes it the secondary master drive and it will run? if so when i get into bios wat do i do to make a drive the seondary master without screwing up my pc. cuz from wat i understand there are a million and one ways to screw it up in bios.
__________________

no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

anybody?
no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I thought you needed a SCSI controller for a SCSI harddrive
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

maybe i have a controller, if i need a control to run the skuzzy drive then i must have it cuz my skuzzy drive is working. i just cant add a new drive to it.
no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

don't you need to have window's install the driver too???

i see everytime i install 2k it asks right away if i want to install a scsi or raid controller......
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

i dunno its weird i plugged the wd 120g hard drive straight into the motherboard instead of slaving it (cuz i cant) and my pc didnt recognize it. it didnt no it was there.
no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

*shrugs* i've never installed one.....i've just seen that window's thing, so tha's where i would of had started....i could be wrong though....wait for some more replys...bunch of smart people on this board
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default

SCSI and IDE(ATA) are 2 seperate busses. SCSI doesn't use the master/slave system. It uses ID 7 as the bus controller and then the drives are assigned IDs by jumper 0 through 6 and optionally, depending on the SCSI type, 8-15. IDE/ATA on the other hand use master/slave so if it's the only drive on the chain it doesn't matter how you have it jumpered. It sounds like the IDE busses are disabled in the BIOS. BE WARNED! Some systems such as older IBMs that come with a SCSI boot drive do NOT like having an ATA drive attached when booting off SCSI.

Hope this helps.

Phil
I12BPhil is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

well i see a card like thing in my pc and it actually has a plug for a drive so that must be it. if i plugged the drive into that is there a risk of F*ckin it up or should i try it cuz it looks alot like it?
__________________

no_use_4_a_name is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.