Installing Dirext X - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2007, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Installing Dirext X

I am having a problem downloading Direct X on my new laptop which has Vista on it. I get an errors (DXErroe.log and DirectX.log) Do I have to have SP2 in order to get Direct X? I haven't even had the option for SP2 on my windows updates.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

There is no SP2 for Vista... SP1 isn't even out for Vista yet.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-03-2007, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

When i try to instal Direct X on my laptop which runs on Vista I get a error that says... An internal system error occurred. Please refer to DXError.log and DirectX.log in your windows folder to determine problem. What do i do?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

Well for anyone else in this situation. Vista comes programmed with DX10 on it. So there is no need to download directx at all for Vista.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

Umm yeah this should have been known. Sorry but Vista has had DX10 since its early beta stages. If you need DX9 to run a game you have to download and install the DirectX Runtimes. Also can download the SDK. Which the latest can be found here...

Microsoft Download Center: DirectX

Just get the newest package and install. It wont overwrite your DX10 install and still allow for DX9 games to be played.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Umm yeah this should have been known. Sorry but Vista has had DX10 since its early beta stages. If you need DX9 to run a game you have to download and install the DirectX Runtimes. Also can download the SDK. Which the latest can be found here...

Microsoft Download Center: DirectX

Just get the newest package and install. It wont overwrite your DX10 install and still allow for DX9 games to be played.
DX10 is backward compatible with DX9. You don't need to install anything until a version comes out past DX10.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

Not so. Some games like Doom 3 still require you to install dX9. They do not recognize that DX10 is backwards compatable. So isntead of the game installing its version of DX9 which will overwrite your DX10 on Vista. Use this method instead. Which will allow these games to see that you have DX9 installed and not force you to isntall it.

I have been using Vista for jsut about a year now. I know the tricks. This is one i foudn out the hard way. Believe me. If you try to isntall Doom 3 or UT2004 you will see that this has to be done.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

You weren't really clear about how to do it. Can you install the DX runtimes without overwriting DX10, or do you have to install the SDK?
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

You should be able to use any one of the 2. I have always found the SDK to be the best to use since they have more to offer. But since we are already working with the best then the runtimes should be just fine. I will test this personally and let you knwo the results.

Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime

That is for the Runtimes web installer.

Okay just ran the Runtimes Web Installer and that works jsut fine. You can use that without any issues.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Installing Dirext X

Why is it that this doesn't overwrite DX10, but DX9 on a game would? Every time I have installed a game with a lower version of DX than what I had, it told me I didn't need to install it.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing video driver without uninstalling original driver a serious problem? darsunt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-01-2007 01:34 AM
MTP (Zen Vision:M) drivers not installing jordo_99 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-04-2007 02:28 AM
Please help installing hd in old comp.. elperra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-30-2007 06:03 PM
xp problem installing new software... upsidedownguy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-14-2007 02:28 PM
Installing a new HD in windows XP DocShady Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-13-2007 03:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.