Installing 2wk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2003, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default Installing 2wk

I recently purchased a w2k upgrade cd for my 98 system. Since purchaasing it i have been told that upgrades can sometimes be buggy . I know that from installing xp that it was possible to wipe the drive clean and during the install just insert a lessesr os cd.Is that option available for W2K ? Thanks in advance.
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 11:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I'm not sure but I have done fine with my upgrades
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Sure is, just boot to the upgrade CD and choose clean install.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

thanks guys it worked great. Now all i need is a few drivers...Thanks again....
mobo is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

here is a bonus. www.driverguide.com

Username: drivers
Password: all
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 06-21-2003, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

I am having a strange problem and could someone give some suggestions?

I did my system over this morning from a double boot of 98 and xp to 98 , w2k and xp pro. When i was all finished and trying to connact xp to the net i notice the network adaptes is showing a problem in device manager in both w2k and xp. Since i didn't touch 98 there aren't any problems there. i gathered the drivers from 98 via free software and tried to install them in xp but it continues to come back to me with somehting like "Does not need drivers or are unable to blah blah blah" Could any one give a possible fix. Its an onboard (built in mobo ) intel adapter.
__________________
Security Tools | Spyware Scan | Prevention 101
mobo is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Just an idea, but how 'bout booting into Win98 and see what the driver is in Windows 98. The drivers are usually called the same name in all Windows incarnations.

Then, when you find that out, get those drivers for 2000 and XP. If you can't find the drivers for XP, hack it and use 2000 drivers.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 06-23-2003, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

I just threw in a nic that6 i had lying around to get it operational and once i got all the updates from microsoft the integrated nic worked again...go figure
mobo is offline  
Old 06-23-2003, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

damn the luck!
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.