installin 2 os's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2008, 06:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
j3wcl@w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Default installin 2 os's

Hi i was just wondering if anyone has ever installed 2 o/s on a 2 seprate hard drives cos i have 2/ 70 gg wd raptors and so wanna install xp on one and vista 64 on the other while i can just change the boot priority to change o/s.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake armour LCS Watercooled
Asus P5N32-SLI Mobo
Intel Core2 quad Extreme Q6600 OC'd to (4x3.00 )
Ati Powercolour Hd 4870 1048mb
4GB OCZ DDR2 800 MHZ
X3 Western Digital raptor's 80gb 10,000 Rpm
Enermax 1000W Galaxy
Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Logitech G9 lazer mouse
Windows Vista ultimate 64 bit
j3wcl@w is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: installin 2 os's

Yes. I haev 3 drives and have had a OS on each of them. I have installed 4 different OS's at a time before.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: installin 2 os's

just wondering is your computer go slow if you have many OS?
bonaventure is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: installin 2 os's

No. Only 1 OS is running at any time. So there is no speed taken away from it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: installin 2 os's

Use a good boot manager too, such as XOSL. (google it)

That will make using your dual-OS configuration all the easier.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: installin 2 os's

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Use a good boot manager too, such as XOSL. (google it)

That will make using your dual-OS configuration all the easier.

I think that he has the right idea. he using the bios or f12 to boot, so no boot loader is needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by j3wcl@w View Post
Hi i was just wondering if anyone has ever installed 2 o/s on a 2 seprate hard drives cos i have 2/ 70 gg wd raptors and so wanna install xp on one and vista 64 on the other while i can just change the boot priority to change o/s.
j3wcl@w just make sure the xp hdd isn't connected while you are installing vista. connect it after the vista install
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: installin 2 os's

I have it the same way. I have XP on my main drive, and am dual-booting Vista/Ubuntu on a secondary drive, just for testing/messing around mostly.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Default Re: installin 2 os's

Works perfectly fine, I have Ubuntu on one drive, windows xp on another, and soon to add windows vista as well on this machine. I have out of simplicities sake used Grub (GNU GRUB - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF)) since it is installed automatically with ubuntu. Properly setup even the windows bootloader will detect the two operating systems and will allow you to choose which one to load on startup. I believe the trick is to install vista first before xp. Check out this guide here for help: How to dual boot Vista and XP (with Vista installed first) -- the step-by-step guide

Like Makaveli213 said, since only one os is loading at a time, having two of them is not going to change anything other than free hard drive space on the second drive.

Hope this helps
- Jordan
Jordan L is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 08:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: installin 2 os's

some people don't like bootloaders. when I hit restart I don't want to have to watch a computer reboot then pick an OS. when I used to use a bootloader, I would restart windows xp, leave, come back then vista was on, even though I didn't want vista. if I change the default boot to xp, the opposite happens

our way, it will change the os only when you want it to
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 OS's to choose from jesspren6 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 03-28-2008 07:56 AM
64/32 OS's and VM's clinton System Upgrades 2 02-16-2008 05:28 AM
How Do I Install 2 OS's? Psychosis84 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-12-2008 02:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.