Installation Freeze (4min left) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 07:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default Installation Freeze (4min left)

Hey all,

I'm having some major problems with a new computer I just put together. Xp pro (slipstreamed with sp2) will not finish installing.

I have a seagate barracuda 250gb 7200.10 sata 2 16mb cache in it, and am installing Windows XP PRO SP2 (cd i made) on it.

It has paused at the Finalizing installation (4min remain) part multiple times, it will pause until I physically hold the power button (atm its been paused for about half an hour if not more)

There is nothing wrong with the cd as I used it to install xp pro sp2 on a different system the day before with no troubles (using that machine right now).. However this machine gets some.

Upon force restart if I take the disc out it will try to load the os but only a permanent blank screen will appear. I did see a BSOD in there somewhere aswell (one of the times of installing)

I have barts minipe ex2 and booted that live cd and could see no problems. The only thing I can come up with is the ram or perhaps something wrong on the mobo but I doubt it.

The mobo is a P5V-VM-DH and ram is just 1024mb stick of Generic ddr2 553mhz.

Hope someone can help.
__________________

__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 07:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Possible causes:

1.ram faulty (sadly you only have 1 stick so you will have to lend some to test)

2.CPU overheating (check bios for temps and fan speed)

3.bad motherboard (unlikely but a possible cause)

4.hard drive (could download the hard drive manufacturers software so you can boot from cd and run diagnostics)

The blue screen during install would normally indicate some sort of hardware failure.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

Thanks, The odd thing is it could be ALL of those things.

Hard drive makes a high pitch squeel slightly (seems to load properly) will get the test software tomorrow .. Bios reports cpu as 70c degrees!! tho everest ultimate edition reports it as 60c degrees (pent d 805 and I beleive 65c is ment to be max).. Case came with plasticy things which I have presumed hold the mobo up (stupid case) would plastic under the screw hole mess anything up motherboard wise?it has a metal screw into it to hold the mobo in place..

Hope I can get it working thanks for your help mate
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

thats a high temp but for Pentium D`s its within acceptable levels might want to turn on the warning monitor if your BIOS has one. So if it reaches say 80C your pc will start beeping.

The plastic things on your mobo are ok, normally you have brass mounts but some motherboards do come with plastic ones too. So that`ll be fine the good thing about those ones is if one is out of place it at least wont short your motherboard .

Hard drive noises are hard to pin point mine always make a racket but have not failed yet, Although iv heard many with little clicking noises which have failed so its hard to diagnose without using the software.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

Update:

I just did a SEATOOLS full scan and partition structer scan everything passed except for my windows partition which had bad file structer (seatools reccomendation was just to defrag and also said it is caused by improper shutdown possible) which makes sense since the installation of xp never finished..

So I think the hard drive is fine.

Doing memtest86+ as we speek will let you know of any troubles. Anyone got anymore ideas on what todo? I just want to get xp on it so I can get rid of the **** thing!

Edit:
I beleive I found the culprit, memtest reported 89 errors when doing 700mb+ chunks into the memory, I have switch the 1gb stick of generic ddr2 533mhz into the second slot and am doing another test.

Does this indicate that the memory is bad? or just not very compatible with my mobo? (asus p5v-vm-dh)
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

errors indicate its bad if the other stick is fine then your pc should be ok would explain the freezing during installation and blue screen.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.