install xp page_fault - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2004, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 28
Default install xp page_fault

Hi, got a guys new pc (XP 3000+) and trying to install Windows XP Pro onto it but when it gets past the first stage of installing (ie loading into RAM) it then gives me a blue screen with PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA.
Any idea what could be the problem and how to solve it.
Thanks Stu
__________________

saspinall is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

maybe ur RAM. Download and run memtest86
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I changed the RAM to my memory stick, tried both but still same error. Mine are working ok in my machine.
saspinall is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

It could also be your CPU. The errors that you have recieved are usually caused by RAM, CPU, or the motherboard and sometimes the hard drive. Since you still recieved the error with different RAM you can rule out that. Which is what you have done, which is good.

What I would do is check the motherboard over carefully. Look for bad capacitors. Capacitors should be flat on top and not bulge on the sides or the top. They should also not be leaking anything. Flip the motherboard over and look at the bottom. Look for small burnt spots on the board. The burnt smell that you smelled was probably Ozone, common with electrical componets. The errors that you are getting are very common when you have bad capacitors. Even if you don't see anything, I would still put the CPU in a different motherboard and see if it works better. Try the HDD also in another 'puter.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.