Install WinXP for Toshiba Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Default Install WinXP for Toshiba Laptop

I have Toshiba A50 laptop and now I want to reinstall WinXP!
If anyone know how to bootup by WinXP CD to install!
Pls help! Urgent needed!
Thanks a lot!
__________________

__________________
First come, last serve
Fly4High is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

basicly youll need to set the optical drive first on the boot devices order (in the bios) , then youll see a message like this when it will boot from the winxp cd "press any key to boot from cd..." then you have about 5 seconds to press a key if you wanna boot from it otherwise it will just automatically boot from the hd
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Default

Yes, of course it is but I just want to know how to access the Bios setup screen to set boot order for Toshiba laptop!
Thanks anyway!
Regard.
__________________
First come, last serve
Fly4High is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I don't know myself. Check manual or call Toshiba tech support.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Default

OK, I'll check the online documents!
Thanks for reply!
__________________
First come, last serve
Fly4High is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

in most cases its the *delete* key , but in some its esc/f1/f2/f4
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if my memory serves me correctly, it's esc for the toshiba laptop
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

escape it is
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Default

I've checked Toshiba online technical docs. EricB was right, firstly we must push esc continuosly until it told us to press F1 to enter the CMOS setup.
Thanks for all reply!
__________________

__________________
First come, last serve
Fly4High is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.