Install Windows XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default Install Windows XP Pro

I want to install Windows XP Pro. I presently have Windows XP on the computer now. Would it be best to uninstall Windows XP prior to installing Windows XP Pro. What is the best way to uninstall Windows XP before installing Pro. Thanks!

Presently have E-Machine 40 Gig HD 256 Memory With a fresh reformatted Hard Drive
__________________

mac12251 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Two options

Put the CD in and choose fresh installation you will lose all of your data if you do this but sometimes it's best as it gets ride of spyware and all of that.

Put in the CD and choose upgrade. Your files will remain and your XP home becomes XP Pro.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default Install of Windows XP Pro

The program does not give me the option of a fresh install. It gives me a window that says the version of windows which is XP is newer than the one I want to install which is XP Pro. Should I uninstall windows XP first then proceed to install XP Pro
mac12251 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Just click yes to that screen and then you will be presented the two options.


And don't worry about that screen it means nothing I had the same thing when I went from XP home (retail) to XP Pro (MSDN).
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

About that, say you have a Dell copy of Windows on the HD, is is best to just completely clear the HD then format it in NTFS, and then pop in the CD?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I heard always Dell was evil when going to a new OS but why is that?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I don't know, but that wasn't the answer to my question...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 11:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No it doesn't matter because either way you will format your hard drive (if you choose so). So in the end it will be reformated anyways. Before or during the install process so don't worry either way it's a fresh start. I hope that made sense.

In short it does not matter. I'm sorry you have a dell though I hope you will be able to get your drivers working.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

OMG Tyler, I bought a new copy of Windows XP, I was saying what was the best way to get rid of the old Dell version on it...

And look at my specs, I am as far away from a Dell as can be.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 07:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The best way is in the setup to do a full format. That will wipe the drive clean of all things that were on it. As far as the Dell thing goes...Dell isnt bad i run one with no problems what so ever. I formatted my drive when i first got it and installed my own XP Pro on it. I have never had any problems with my system. It is just that if you try ti use a Dell OS disk on another system that it doesnt install everything cause the disk was tailored to your system. So if you use it on another system it wont have everything. I hope that makes sense. I hope that clears things up a little bit for you Counter.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.