Install time for Windows 2000 slow or normal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default Install time for Windows 2000 slow or normal?

I recently built my first computer ever, and it works. However, as I'm attempting to install windows 2000, it installs slowly. I mean... 4 hours slowly. My specs are:

Athlon 64 3700+
A8N-SLi
2x512 Gig Corsair DDR400 Ram
200GB 7200RPM ATA-100 Hard Drive
GeForce 6800GS

Installing sevice pack 4 (from CD, I burned network installation on it) is another one or two hours.

So basically I'm extremly weirded out be the speeds Windows is installing at. After installation the computer is running at 100% in task manager alot of the time, and Cool 'n Quiet is disabled. So I'm wondering if Windows 2000 is supposed to take this long to install, or if there's something horribly wrong with my computer.
__________________

sikyon is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it sure isnt. so how did you go about instaling 2000?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I grabed my Win 2000 CD, made 4 boot disks on my other computer, used the boot disks to boot Win 2000 setup on my new computer. After it was installed I installed the Network Service Pack 4 upgrade from a CD (I downloaded it onto my other computer and burned it onto the CD).

I guess it's possible I messed up on hardware installation somewhere but I'm not sure if you could actually install a peice of hardware so it works but works slower... (without say changing the speed of it manually)
sikyon is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

why cant you just use the 2000 cd to do a repair with out the boot ****s?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i dont know if this helps,

what is your cd-rom drive's speed? 52X?

is the disc faulty? (if so burn a new one)

is your Hard drive busted?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
why cant you just use the 2000 cd to do a repair with out the boot ****s?
I didn't realise that I could boot from the CD. Yeah ok.

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
i dont know if this helps,

what is your cd-rom drive's speed? 52X?

is the disc faulty? (if so burn a new one)

is your Hard drive busted?
I have a DVD R/W that has a 40x CD speed.

I don't think the disc is faulty.

How can I test for this? It's brand new so I'm not sure.

So I got out a Windows XP CD and I'm installing that now after reformatting. I'm also writing down the time each step takes but right now the file copy is so slow... the only reason I know it's still going is because the files being copied changes every once so often in the bottom corner. The progress bar hasn't moved in the last 20 minutes from 38%.
sikyon is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

boot from cd and install.

try another cd rom if your dvd rw isn't reading it correctly. that's happening a lot these days.

why would you put 2000 on a monster machine like that?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you might be doing a regular format and not a quick...is that right?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you could put xp 64-bit on your machine, assuming that your processor is 64-bit...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 01:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
you might be doing a regular format and not a quick...is that right?
Yes, that's right. It takes about an hour, but I would expect it to. Right?

Quote:
you could put xp 64-bit on your machine, assuming that your processor is 64-bit...
I would assume that an Athlon "64" is 64-bit. Just a thought.

Anyhow I'm looking at BIOS upgrades right now. I've looked about the net abit and found alot of people were having trouble with the A8N-SLI and slow windows install times (ie. 8 hours for XP Pro). The latest BIOS's have apparently been a godsend so I'll try those.
__________________

sikyon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.