Insanity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 12:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Insanity

Hey guys. So, I got a computer that is on the blink. Last week, someone rebooted it and windows never loaded. The system posted fine, windows xp startup menu would come up asking for safe mode, etc etc and then when you picked one, or waited the 30 seconds, the screen goes blank until you reboot. Tried to reinstall windows, and windows setup wouldn't even load. Checked all hardware, all works fine.

So, I went on vacation for a week and during that time, we ordered two exact hard drives (this computer is for a business) so that we could set up RAID 1 on it (mirroring). Get home today, put the new hard drives in, setup the raid, everything goes perfect (yes I used RAID drivers for the windows setup). We install everything and install the original hard drive as a 3rd drive for backup (not formatted yet... still had all data on it). Installed everything fine, drivers, and some software, rebooted fine. All of the sudden, on one particular reboot, the same problem happened (windows starts to load, but goes to black screen). So, back to square one. After unplugging, replugging and more plugging, I eliminated every possible hardware piece I could. Gave up and tried to reinstall windows again. Now, windows setup will not get past "Starting Windows setup". Will load all drivers and raid drivers fine, but then goes to look at the hard drives, and freezes.

I took a ubuntu CD and installed linux on BOTH of the drives and it worked fine. Took the drives out, put them in my computer (in my sig), deleted all partitions, created a new one, and formatted it (NTFS). Tried to install again, no go. Checked temps, all temps are good (40-50c)

I'm at a loss here. The system is:

Abit KN9
1gb Patriot
5200+ X2 AM2
7300 GT
DVD+/-RW
500w Thermaltake PS
(2) SataII WD 250gb WD2500YS hard drives
Win XP Pro

Any ideas here?
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Insanity

bad batch file? Hard Drive might still be suspect. try writing zeros to the HDD, get a fresh version of windows, install it and see what you get
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: Insanity

I'll have to find a program to do that, and i've tried 3 different windows CD's

Found this a minute ago... same exact problem. Guy said changing the processor fixed it, but i'm not sure how it could not work, work perfectly fine for a few hours, then not work again. Tried reseating everything, no go.

Can't Install XP
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Insanity

That is quite a problem you got there......
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Insanity

you said it all goes bad when it tries to mess with the hard drives.

I think its either the hard drive controller on the motherboard or the motherboard itself. get a hard drive controller card and hook them up to that and see what happens.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: Insanity

Just to follow up... bought new motherboard and problem is solved. I assume it was hard drive controller.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Insanity

I got here too late. you should have clear it first.

unplug all hdds and ram and power. take the battery out and hold power button for 30 seconds. clear the cmos pin too to be sure. put battery back and plug in. turn on comp. it will beep but won't boot. repeat this. now put the hdd's back in.

wipe the drive clean with powermax or wipedrive (let me know if you need them). reinstall windows. I also would stay away from raid. raid 5 really is the only kinda reliable one

I've had that happen to a couple of computers. clearing the board in this manner made the machine bootable again
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: Insanity

Tried that clearning CMOS... didn't help. Also, wiped hard drives numerous times numerous ways. Again, checked hard drives in MY computer and they worked fine installing windows, etc.

Thanks though... hehe New mobo fixed and the old one is RMA'd
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Insanity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crysalis View Post
Tried that clearning CMOS... didn't help. Also, wiped hard drives numerous times numerous ways. Again, checked hard drives in MY computer and they worked fine installing windows, etc.

Thanks though... hehe New mobo fixed and the old one is RMA'd
that's good to hear. the reason I told you to do it that way is because errors can sometime get stuck in memory and on the hdd (as both of these have a lot of storage) clear just the cmos wouldn't work.

I've encounter this error on 3 different computers. I had to follow those exact steps would fix it. nothing else would. tuning the computer on after clearing the cmos with no ram or hdd connected will clear every last trace of everything.


but you have a warranty, so don't worry about it

I really think that one of those instance that microsoft had stuck something virus like in my ram. I was running a test to show people what would happen if you use a certain blacklist windows xp and go to windows update
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Insanity

glad to hear that you got it fixed, guess I was a little off on my suggestion. gl with the new board!! Eric, I shall remember what you said in here, might prove useful later on with my new setup
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.