inaccessible boot device..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2005, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default inaccessible boot device.....

well....i just got this p3 800 runnin'...specs below...

it was runnin' for3 days now?? about that anyway.....i left it running because it took at LEAST 10 pushes of the power button to start and the mobo battery was done it wouldn't keep the bios settings....

so i come home today..and i've got the blue screen of death....ran out of memeory.....okay.......been ther done the blue screen comes up half way loadin' window's 2k...sayin' i've potentially got a virus....SAME firewall settings, SAME anti virus stuff being ran.......yet it says runs perfectly fine for the past 3 days until now.....

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 03:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219

replace the battery. It might not work though. my p3 600mhz asus had me cold restarting 30-60 times before posting, then it stopped working all together. got a new battery, didnt work.

during the times it did work, I had alot of blue screens... this could be relative to your situation, perhaps.

[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441

Replace the CMOS battery so that it retains settings for a start.
The fact that it takes several attempts to start the PC probably won't be solved by a new battery but could be caused by either :
dodgy power switch on front of PC
dodgy psu (the 'power good' pin on the ATX connector to mobo won't allow the system to boot unless it detectd sufficient voltage).

I would also test the RAM using something like memtest86 that can be run a boot disk.
Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.