Importing Users From Active Directory

Status
Not open for further replies.

star_topology

In Runtime
Haven't posted here in awhile, and I can't believe I didn't think to come here sooner because I always seem to get a solution.

Note: Please don't respond with links to Microsoft's Knowledge Base, unless you're sure this is what will solve my problem. I say this of course, because I've scanned the MS KB a lot, and couldn't find an easy solution-- I hope one's out there.

Anyway, here's the deal: We spent nearly $300k on hardware and software upgrades at my workplace. We have all new computers, servers, etc. However, we want to be able to import users from the active directory of an old domain to the new active directory on our new domain.

For example, we have lots of students (I work in IT for a school district) that we don't want to have to manually re-type into the AD.
The old domain for a particular set of students was a server called "seventhgrade" which had its own active directory. Now we are consolidating all students (middle and high school) to a "students" domain controller (students.myschooldistrict.com).

We've found lots of support links, and we've been able to export our students to a .csv, .txt and even .ldf but we can't easily use a "find and replace" type solution for importing them to the new domain AD.

I probably explained it far too much, but I didn't want to leave anything out. But I hope I clarified my problem and someone can come to my rescue. :)

http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/w2k3/W2K3_ADMT.htm

ADMT v 2.0 (Active Directory Migration Tool)