Imaging Machines Over Network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2006, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to neBo503
Default Imaging Machines Over Network

HOW CAN I IMAGE A MACHINE ON MY NETWORK WITHOUT HAVING TO PHYSICALLY GO TO THE MACHINE AND PUT A BOOT DISK IN IT?

I use Norton Ghost... but will buy any software that will make this work.

Please help it will make my life so much easier!!!
__________________

__________________
Inspiron 6000
1.6 centrino
1024mb DDR
40gb hd
nothin else special lol
neBo503 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

This is a rather complex task, and if someone wants to write it all out, feel free.
Look here for starters:

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro.../remoteos.mspx

Here is another using SMS/WinPE to deploy as well.
http://www.windowsitpro.com/Windows/...497/49497.html

Something else to look at:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/its.../bddpcimg.mspx
This is a good setup/config process for doing RIS/SMS-WinPE deployments.


Good luck, and feel free to ask away...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to neBo503
Default

Thanks a bunch... I will be reading all that, and checking back in. Thanks for helping out! Soon as I figure this out... my life is going to be easy as pie.
__________________
Inspiron 6000
1.6 centrino
1024mb DDR
40gb hd
nothin else special lol
neBo503 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Imaging Machines Over Network

Quote:
Originally posted by neBo503
HOW CAN I IMAGE A MACHINE ON MY NETWORK WITHOUT HAVING TO PHYSICALLY GO TO THE MACHINE AND PUT A BOOT DISK IN IT?

I use Norton Ghost... but will buy any software that will make this work.

Please help it will make my life so much easier!!!
how do you use norton ghost to do it?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to neBo503
Default

I make a boot disk... then i plop the disk into the machine physically... let it run... select my image, badabing.
__________________
Inspiron 6000
1.6 centrino
1024mb DDR
40gb hd
nothin else special lol
neBo503 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neBo503
I make a boot disk... then i plop the disk into the machine physically... let it run... select my image, badabing.
how do you make a image to deploy?

I bought me an small smartdisc firelight 40 gig external drive. I've install lot of computers for this daycare company. I had to manually install it on15 different computers. I want to put an image unto the pocket hdd, then install the ghost disc and then deploy windows in 15 minute or less
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to neBo503
Default

I build the image just like I would build a regular operating system spec'ed out how I want it... then I run sysprep, then I upload my sysprepped image to a GHOST folder on my server.
__________________
Inspiron 6000
1.6 centrino
1024mb DDR
40gb hd
nothin else special lol
neBo503 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what is sysprep and where can I get it?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to neBo503
Default

sysprep makes your operating system go to the 'setup' part of it... like if you run sysprep, then reboot your machine, it takes you to the point where you gotta name the machine, admin password, connect to domain and all that.

i am a n00b sys admin so sorry if my terms are wrong lol all i know is that my stuff works haha
__________________
Inspiron 6000
1.6 centrino
1024mb DDR
40gb hd
nothin else special lol
neBo503 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

You can get sysprep from the XP cd and the MS website.
TO make the deployment for this work, I've been looking at something like this:
Need 1 dedicated PXE Server. Create a img file of a WinPE cd-rom ~50mb. Use the PXE server to send the Image to a machine when it boots, and requests it, and have the image run a batch file to run ghost. We support about 11 machine types now on 1 image, but the image is 3.4 gb, due to software and configs...

This is the method that I would use. We don't do it simply because of load. We cover most of the state of alaska, have 17 sites and it's a pain if you image 3 machines in a remote site using this method casue the overall bandwidth goes to ****.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.