Image Ready Help Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2003, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default Image Ready Help Needed

Okay, here's my deal. I want to post an animated avatar or sig. I've designed and made both. BUT! When I try to upload them, I get an error saying that I need to have them saved as the usual .jpg, .gif, .btmp etc. And all I can save them as is .psd. Perhaps I'm not looking in the right menus. But any help would be appreciated.

__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

try file -> Save for web.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

I'd love to, but it doesn't exist.
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-10-2003, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

give me a screenprint of what you are doing. do you have the option to "save optimized as"? and also if you made it in photoshop are you opening the file in imageready first?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 10:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Isn't Imageready just an extension proggy of Photoshop? If you can save for web with PS, can't you with this proggy?

Anyway, if that's not there, look for an "export" option in the file menu.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no it is not an extension or a plugin within photoshop. imageready used to be a separately installed application in previous versions, but now it comes bundled with photoshop and can be installed at the same time during photoshop installation. it does have close integration with photoshop because you can switch to imageready through photoshop while working on a document.

yes there is an export feature which i think is for outputing to a scanner or PDF, but in his case since he want to make an animated GIF he should use the "save optimized as" option or "save optimized". "export original" would also not work in his case. the save optimized option in imageready is equivalent to photoshop's "save for web" option.

you also have to remember to save the photoshop file with the animation you created otherwise the layer, animation, image maps, and slices are lost because GIF does not save these features within the file.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Yes, I can "save optimized as" and yes I made the first image in photoshop, but every other frame/layer was made in image ready. My experience and knowlage of ImageReady is that I made it do what i wanted it to do. I don't know anything about slicing or most of the other features included. But I'll keep tweaking it and maybe I'll get it to work. But my new avatar/sig combo is good fer now.
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 05:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

photoshop and imageready both use the photoshop format, i think, which is .PSD

if you made an animation through imageready all of your layers, animations, slices, image maps will need to be saved as a .PSD file. when you make the frames for the GIF file you will lose all layer information if you do not save to .psd

you can open the PSD through imageready and voila everything is saved intact
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default WHOOOOO I got it!

Thanks for the help guys!
__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.